Apr 30, 2009

Vegan Gummy Bears?

...and Gummy Worms! I was under the impression that these were mythological creatures that would never exist, due to that all important non-vegan ingredient, gelatin. Well, I was definitely proven wrong! Thanks to Surf Sweets organic and fruit-sweetened candy, I can once again indulge.

I was thinking about putting these to use on top of frosted cupcakes, but they were all gobbled up before you could say "sugar high."

Our votes: "Sour Worms" won 1st place. "Fruity Bears" took 2nd place, followed by the "Gummy Swirls."

All in all, they were sweet, delicious, and hit the gummy-craving spot, and would definitely please most any kid (or adult) with a sweet tooth. I did think that the texture was more like gum drops than the typical gummy bear, but you just can't beat those shapes!

They also have a few others: Gummy Bears (appears to not be dusted with sugar), Jelly Beans, and Gummy Worms (not sour). I've just been told that they also will be coming out with Sour Berry Bears too.

Thanks to Bert from Surf Sweets for sending me into a pleasant sugar coma!

15 comments:

  1. I haven't tried this brand yet! I'm glad to hear they were good, I'll have to pick some up for my gummy loving husband.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yum- that looks like all types of fun!

    ReplyDelete
  3. wow, that's impressive! i didn't know such things existed either!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Right on! This will be a nice surprise treat for my son.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm impressed! I haven't had a gummy bear in so long- this would be great for my son's birthday party!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I like that they have better ingredients- very cool! More candies should be this way.

    ReplyDelete
  7. SOUR Gummy Worms!!! Awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am craving one of those gummy worms. How wonderful you found these!

    ReplyDelete
  9. whoa! i want some of those sour worms. i totally dig those things!

    ReplyDelete
  10. These are delicious, but be careful when purchasing because not all of their gummy items are vegan (cut to picture of me spitting a non-vegan worm onto the sidewalk).

    ReplyDelete
  11. I totally agree with the ranking-the worms(orange are my favourite) are the best, not a fan of the gummy swirls.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I went on their website and the ingredients for the bears and worms had gelatin. They might have just changed their ingredients or something, but now they're not vegan or vegetarian. Gelatin is made from pig skin, or veal bones. I don't mean to burst your bubble, but I just think that people should know that.
    Sorry.

    ReplyDelete
  13. @Anonymous: Yeah, not all of their stuff is vegan- the following products are gelatin-free: Fruity Bears, Gummy Swirls, Jelly Beans, Sour Berry Bears and Sour Worms, so you have to make sure before ordering.

    ReplyDelete